Posted by: ontargetprayerministries | April 3, 2011

Help Me to Forgive Others

All post content is copyrighted. (c) 2011
Rather than copying and posting on your site with credit to me, please provide a link to my site with an explanation as to why you think others would benefit by reading them. Thank you for visiting

Help me to Forgive Others

This second prayer, on forgiveness, is a prayer asking the father to help us to forgive those who have hurt us in any way.

The Lord taught me to forgive people the way he forgave. He said to me one time to forgive people the way he forgave me. I asked him how he did it, and he said that he forgave me ahead of time. In other words, he forgave me before I sinned. I have learned that if I think about that enough and make the decision to forgive people, before they do something to me, or ahead of time, I was ahead of the game. This way the pathway, in my mind, to forgive is already established. That way when someone does anything to me I have a better chance to forgive him or her quickly. He also forgave me for all of my sins. Not just seven times or seven times seventy. So I forgive them for all of the things they may do to me.

I also study the scriptures that talk about forgiveness. Forgiveness needs to become a mindset, a way of thinking, who we are, a way of life.  We need to come to the place where we can just let things go and not allow strongholds to form in our mind, which lead to strongholds in our hearts.                                                     

I understand that it can be a struggle to forgive and some things are harder than others are. No one knows unless they have been there, however we need to continually work on forgiving.

Ask those in the body that are walking in this, to pray and help you in this area of your life. Stay in the word, memorize scriptures on forgiveness, and pray over them. Ask the Lord to help you to walk in the Spirit with each scripture by obeying the word. Psalm 119 talks about learning and obeying the word. Verse 11 tells us that when we hide God`s word in our hearts it helps us to not sin against the Lord. I believe that when you take any size step towards God, he will meet you where you are.

Father, in the name of Jesus, I thank you that you love me. Help me to love myself the way you want me to. I forgive myself for the things I have done that have hurt you or anyone.  My desire is to forgive those who have hurt or offended me. Help me to forgive them. Help me to love them as you love them. I pull down all strongholds in my mind that are keeping me from forgiving. I cast down every imagination, and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, and I bring every thought into captivity to the obedience of Jesus Christ. Now Lord Jesus, as the Captain of my salvation these thoughts are your prisoners, please take them away. I thank you that you are faithful to take them away and not let them return. Father, help me to forgive people the way Jesus forgave them. He forgave me before I even committed the sin. So, help me to be like Jesus, willing to forgive ahead of time. Help me to come to the place in my Christian walk where I let things go when people hurt me, offend me, or do anything against me. Help me not to allow unforgiveness to gain any kind of hold on my mind or heart. Help me to keep my thoughts on good things. I apply the blood of Jesus to my mind and to every thought. Help me to cleanse my mind, from the things that lead to death, so that I may serve you. I ask in the name of Jesus. Amen.

Scripture References:

Matthew 6:12, Matthew 6:14-15

Matthew 18:23-35, Mark 11:25-26

Luke 6:36-37, Ephesians 4:30-32

Colossians 3:12-13, 1 John 1:7

Philippians 4:8, Hebrews 9:14

Responses

  1. What a great web log. I spend hours on the net reading blogs, about tons of various subjects. I have to first of all give praise to whoever created your theme and second of all to you for writing what i can only describe as an fabulous article. I honestly believe there is a skill to writing articles that only very few posses and honestly you got it. The combining of demonstrative and upper-class content is by all odds super rare with the astronomic amount of blogs on the cyberspace.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 50 other followers

